Just Decide

Leah Spelt L-I-G-I-A
3 min readOct 1, 2020

I just dropped off my art pieces to the Gallery.

I called my husband with our usual through out the day check ins to let him know. There I was cool as could be.

It was a hectic morning but I managed to get the pieces hung and delivered on time.

Then as I said the following words I felt them get caught up in my throat and spill a wash of tears as the voice of a 2 year old who just dropped her ice cream came flooding out of my mouth.

“If you had said to me a year or even 6 months ago that I would be showing my work at a gallery” I would have laughed…Yeah right… It wasn’t even on my radar. It wasn’t even in the range of possibilities for me.

2020 has been a year of obvious challenge and change and naturally I decided it was the ideal year to launch my creative career because come on already how much longer are you going to talk about do these things that are burning in your heart???

One step at a time.

Yet here I am… A shift. A commitment. A decision later.

A promise to myself to show up even when its scary. A choice to keep working even when its hard. Embracing an open mind to see the opportunities all around me.

Who knows what the next year will bring. The next 6 months. The next week.

Dare to dream.💫

Great way to celebrate with a most gracious gift from my Host Thomas Robinson @ Robinson Fine Arts Gallery

Hey! My name is Ligia (Leah). AKA L’Artista Gigi. I am an artist, a muralist, a writer, a creator, public speaker and all around lover of life and learning.

Thank you for reading. This is my journey into the exciting world of following my creative dreams.

Follow along with me.

Love art? Inspiration? Check out www.lartistagigi.com for original art and prints or come say hello on Instagram or Facebook.

“One can choose to go back toward safety or forward toward growth. Growth must be chosen again and again; fear must be overcome again and again.” -Abraham Maslow

--

--